Two months after Harvey, my service continues

By Marty McKellips, Regional Chief Executive, Central and South Texas

It’s been more than two months since Hurricane Harvey caused the largest flooding event in U.S. history. The Red Cross has provided shelter, food, relief supplies, casework, health services, emotional care, direct financial assistance and other support to help people whose lives were turned upside down by this disaster – but our work isn’t finished.

I’d like to share some important news with you. While the last two months have brought some of the most tragic and challenging circumstances you can imagine, they have also been inspiring. I am committed to seeing my fellow Texans through this incredibly difficult time, however long that takes. That is why I’ve accepted the role as Interim Regional Chief Executive for the Texas Gulf Coast Region for the next several months. I will oversee the ongoing relief efforts and develop a transition plan to guide the region back to “blue sky” operations. Our Regional Chief Operating Officer, Alex Villa, will act as Interim Chief Executive here in the Central & South Texas Region in my absence. While this will be a challenge, I know we are up to it. We will come together as one Red Cross and support our statewide network of volunteers, disaster workers and hurricane survivors.

To every volunteer, every donor, every partner, every advocate: thank you for supporting your fellow human beings in their time of great need. For a complete report on the Red Cross response to Hurricane Harvey, download the one-month update.

Two months after Harvey, my service continues